Users can now access the new 'Privacy' section within the platform. To get there you can click on your name in the top-right corner and in the drop-down menu you will now see the new 'Privacy' option.
There are a number of actions a user can take in their 'Privacy' section:
- Users can view their PostBeyond activity history.
- Users can download their PostBeyond activity history.
- Users can deactivate their PostBeyond account.
- Users can delete their account and all of their PostBeyond activity history. This will permanently delete a user's account and activity history. The user can create a new account, however their history cannot be restored.
How can users view their PostBeyond activity history?
Users can see their entire PostBeyond activity history from the Privacy section by clicking on the the bar that says 'View personal data':
After clicking on the bar, your personal activity history will appear. This may take a few moments to load as the file is generated.
How can users download their PostBeyond activity history?
Users can download their activity history by clicking 'Download personal data.'
This file will download as a .json file, which can be opened with any text editor.
How can users deactivate their accounts?
If users want to deactivate their account, which archives their account without deleting their data, they can deactivate their account from the 'Privacy' page. To do this, they click 'Deactivate account.'
Users will then be asked to enter their password in order to confirm their deactivation request:
Once they have correctly entered their password and clicked 'Continue,' they will be deactivated and logged out of the platform.
How can users delete their accounts?
If a user would like to delete their account and all of the related data, they can do that from the 'Privacy' page as well. To do this, they click 'Delete account.'
Users will then be asked to enter their password in order to confirm their delete request:
Once they have correctly entered their password and clicked 'Continue' they will be permanently deleted and logged out of the platform. Note: once a user deletes their account there is no way to restore the information as it is permanently deleted from our database.