Getting Started as a Manager: Level 2 - Team Management

In this lesson, we'll be covering team management, including the different methods of adding users to the platform. You'll learn how to:

  • Add users in bulk to your platform
  • Add individual users
  • Archive users and edit their information
  • Edit groups

Before you get started, we recommend going through the previous lesson on creating content.

 

Bulk Adding Users

There are a number of ways to add users to your platform, both when first launching the platform and when looking to expand it. This section will introduce the different ways to add users to the platform and talk about the benefits and differences, to help guide you in choosing the best one for you. Click on each way of adding users to learn more about its pros, cons, and how it works. 

Bulk Upload - Pro: one CSV file is used to upload as many users as you want and sort them into groups. Con: No way of tracking when a user actually signed up & logged in. 

Email Invite - Pro: email sent directly from the platform by copying lists of email addresses. Con: users need to be manually sorted into groups

Group Invite Link - Pro: users can be added directly to a group. Con: admin must email all users in each group with a separate link. 

Single Sign-on (SSO) Through Google - Pro: very quick setup & very secure. Con: users need to be manually sorted into groups

Single Sign-on (SSO) Through SAML - Pro: very secure & allows for more customization of login. Con: Requires IT for setup. 

Activity 

  • Load users to your platform using one of the above methods

 

Adding Individual Users and Editing their Information

Once your program is up and running, you will need to update your list when new employees start who should have access to the platform. Additionally, you may need to update a specific user's information as it changes. This section will show you how to add individual users to the platform, and how to update existing users' information. 

Activity

  • Add one user to the platform 

 

Archiving and Reactivating Users 

In order to ensure that your reporting is accurate, you will need to ensure that users who are no longer supposed to be on the platform, such as former employees, no longer have access to the platform and no longer appear in usage reports. This section will go over how to archive a user. 

Activity

  • Archive one user
  • Find the perviously archived user in your archived users list and unarchive them 

 

Editing Groups

Sometimes, you may want to reorganize your groups. This section will show how to add new groups, rename them, or delete them. 

Activity

  • Edit the name of one of your groups

 

Continue to the next module here:

Module 2 - Level 1

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Powered by Zendesk